Still Named Bednarik Semi-Finalist

Still Named Bednarik Semi-Finalist

Devon Still named a semi-finalist for the 2011 Bednarik Award given to college football's Defensive Player of the Year.

Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still was named one of 16 semi-finalists for the 17th annual Bednarik Award, given to college football's Defensive Player of the Year.

The original watch list for the 2011 award included 65 candidates. However, Devon Still was added to the watch list earlier this month on October 11.

Throuh nine games Still has 47 tackles (24 solo), 15.5 TFL, four sacks, one pas breakup and one fumble recovery.

Penn State boasts three former Bednarik winners, LaVar Arrington (1999), Paul Posluszny (2005, 2006) and Dan Connor (2007), more than any other program in the country.

Here is the complete list of semi-finalists:

Mark Barron, Sr DB, Alabama
Arthur Brown, Jr LB, Kansas State
Vontaze Burfict, Jr LB, Arizona State
Morris Claiborne, Jr DB, Lousiana State
Lavonte David, Sr LB, Nebraska
Dont'a Hightower, Jr LB, Alabama
Melvin Ingram, Sr DL, South Carolina
Luke Kuechly, Jr LB, Boston College
Tyrann Mathieu, So DB, Lousiana State
Whitney Mercilus, Jr DL, Illinois
Sean Spence, Sr LB, Miami
Devon Still, Sr DL, Penn State
Manti Te'o, Jr LB, Notre Dame
Chase Thomas, Sr LB, Stanford
Courtney Upshaw, Sr LB, Alabama
Jerel Worthy, Jr DL, Michigan State

-30- Recommended Stories

Up Next