Clark Wins Silver Football MVP Honor
Daryll Clark Named MVP
Daryll Clark Named MVP
Penn Strate
Posted Dec 9, 2009

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. - Record-setting quarterback Daryll Clark (Youngstown, Ohio) has been named co-winner of the prestigious Chicago Tribune Silver Football, presented to the Big Ten Conference's Most Valuable Player.

A two-time first team All-Big Ten honoree, Clark joins former Nittany Lion standout quarterbacks Kerry Collins (1994) and Michael Robinson (2005) as Silver Football recipients. Clark shares the 2009 honor with Michigan defensive end Brandon Graham, the first time there have been co-winners since the award was first presented in 1924.

Clark and Graham were announced as co-recipients on the Big Ten Network Tuesday night.

A co-captain, Clark has a 21-4 record as the starting quarterback and owns multiple Penn State season and career passing and total offense records. He leads the Big Ten in pass efficiency (145.7) and touchdown passes (23). This season, he is 214 of 346 (61.8) for a school record 2,787 yards, with a Penn State record 23 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. The former Ursuline High School standout also has rushed for 191 yards and a team-high seven touchdowns this season.

Among the other school records Clark owns are:

  • Career touchdown passes - 42
  • Season touchdown passes - 23
  • Season passing yardage - 2,787 yards
  • Season touchdowns responsible for - 30 (23 passing, 7 rushing)
  • Career touchdowns responsible for - 64 (42 passing, 22 rushing).

    Clark is one of only 12 Big Ten players since 1950 to be named first team all-conference quarterback multiple times. He was the only player selected Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week three times this season and has five career conference weekly accolades. Clark was selected a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award for the second consecutive season and named one of the final 10 candidates for the 2009 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented to the nation's top senior quarterback.

    The legendary Red Grange of Illinois won the first Silver Football in 1924 and the award has been presented annually since. Among some of the other winners are: Otto Graham (1943), Dick Butkus (1963), Bob Griese (1966), Archie Griffin (1973-74), Chuck Long (1985), Desmond Howard (1991), Ron Dayne (1999) and Drew Brees (2000).

    The No. 11/9 Nittany Lions (10-2) will play No. 13 LSU (9-3) in the 64th Capital One Bowl on Jan. 1, 2010. The second all-time meeting between the teams will kick at 1:00 p.m. in Orlando, Fla. and air on ABC, Sports USA Radio and the Penn State Sports Network. Penn State will be playing in its fourth different New Year's bowl game in the last five years.


Related Stories
Clark OK After Auto Accident
 -by  Dec 11, 2009
Nittany Nation Votes Clark Offensive MVP
 -by  Dec 4, 2009
Clark Named FOS Player of the MSU Game
 -by  Nov 25, 2009

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of Fight On State Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
QB Daryll Clark (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Penn State
Football > Ursuline HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]